Announcing:  The John McVie Collection

John McVie is the 'mac' part of Fleetwood Mac, the band he started with drummer Mick Fleetwood.  His work with the band on the Rumours album and beyond that is (rightly) lauded for his combination of melodicism and simplicity.

What's less well known is that Fleetwood Mac started out as a blues band that grew out of teh 'training ground' of John Mayall's Bluesbreakers.  And yep, the bass player on the 'Beano' bluesbreakers album with Eric Clapton was our very own John McVie.

This Collection fuses the two distinct periods together - though it leans towards McVie's earlier (and in my opinion, more interesting) bluesier period.  If you've not checked out some of McVie's earlier work - AND you're interested in the blues and blues rock - then this collection is a great place to start checking out McVie's work.

What Do I Get?

The John McVie Collection consists of 18 Song Tutorials (4 in the older, legacy style) and each song has its own dedicated page.  Navigating to the song you wish to learn is simple - and everything you need to learn that song will be at your fingertips.

Each song tutorial in the Collection includes the following:


  • Video Tutorials

    Each song is split into its main parts – e.g. verse, chorus, bridge, etc – and each main part has its own video tutorial.  Each song is played twice – these are performance tempo and slow tempo playthroughs with picture in picture editing. The notation and tab for each section is posted so that you can cross-reference as you’re going through the video portion of the lesson.

  • Downloadable PDFs For Each Song

    Each song has its own downloadable PDF which contains the notation and tab and some thoughts on playing through the song – and often a ‘road map’ of the song (i.e. what order you play the parts to play through the song).

  • Bass Less Backing Tracks

    Some of the song tutorials have a bass less backing track to play along to.

  • Detailed Band In A Box Programming Instructions

    The PDF for each song in the Collection also contains detailed instructions on how to program the individual song sections in Band In A Box. These instructions include key, suggested performance tempos and so on.

    (Note: Band In A Box is NOT included with The Collection  – but is the best practice software out there for bass players FOR ALL THEIR PRACTICE (IMO) and is highly recommended.)

  • 4 "Note by Note" Legacy Tutorials

    4 of the tutorials in the collection are the old, note-by-note legacy tutorial style.  The information is still relevant…but the presentation is old fashioned and less effective (in my humble but accurate opinion).

What Are The  Songs Included In The John McVie Collection

  1. Hideaway (Bluesbreakers)
  2. Albatross (Fleetwood Mac)
  3. All Your Love (Bluesbreakers)
  4. Black Magic Woman (Fleetwood Mac)
  5. The Stumble (Bluesbreakers)
  6. Blue Letter (Fleetwood Mac)
  7. Rhiannon (Fleetwood Mac)
  8. Dreams (Fleetwood Mac)
  9. Miles Away (Fleetwood Mac)
  10. Little Girl (Bluesbreakers)
  11. Have You Heard (Bluesbreakers)
  12. Go Your Own Way (Fleetwood Mac)
  13. Watch Out (Fleetwood Mac)
  14. Werewolves Of London (Warren Zevon)
  15. Little Lies (Fleetwood Mac)***
  16. You Make Loving Fun (Fleetwood Mac) ***
  17. Don't Stop (Fleetwood Mac) •••
  18. The Chain (Fleetwood Mac) ***


*** = legacy, note by note tutorial

Let Me Give You A Demo

Let me give you a short demonstration of how everything is set up in this collection - the example is from The David Bowie Collection but the layout is very similar in the John McVie Collection:


So How Much Does The John McVie Collection Cost?

The John McVie Collection requires an investment of just...


30 Day 100% Money Back Guarantee:  I know that you'll find the unique tutorial combination of video, notation/tab and backing tracks  in The John McVie Collection will help you learn these great sol and blues songs to play with your band or at jams.   I want YOU to be just as confident with your purchase though, so there's a full 30 day guarantee period.  After your purchase you've got a full 30 days to go through the songs in the John McVie Collection.  If for whatever reason you're not satisfied,  all you have to do is drop me an email and let me know.  I'll refund your purchase ASAP with no hassles and no hoops to jump through, and we can part as friends.

So It's Time To Make A Decision:  You should have all the information you need to decide whether you want to learn these songs, starting in the next few minutes.  Simply  CLICK the big yellow 'JOIN NOW' button below and you'll be taken to a Registration Page where you can join The John McVie Collection.

Paul Wolfe



P.P.S RECAP of the above.  For just $30 you'll get detailed tutorials to the 18 John McVie basslines listed.  Each tutorial covers the major sections of the song and you'll see video for each section, plus interactive soundslice.  Additionally there is notation and tab in the downloadable PDF.  There is also detailed programming instructions to create practice tracks for each song chunk with the software Band In A Box (Band In A Box NOT included)  Don't forget that you're covered by my 30 Day No Questions Asked Guarantee if you  decide this is not for you - so all the risk is on me.



  • Q.How Long Is This Resource Available To Me Once I've Joined?

    A.My business plans  work in 5 year cycles…and I’m currently a year into my second cycle – so the first answer is at least 4 years.  I don’t envisage selling or closing How To Play Bass Dot Com so the realistic answer is probably much longer than that.  4 years is as good a place as any to start.

  • Q.I Don't Have Band In A Box - Are The Programming Instructions Of Any Use?

    A.Firstly you might not have Band In A Box now, but if you’re serious about getting better at bass guitar then this should be high on your wish list.  It’s the best practice tool for bass players out there.  Secondly, even if you don’t have Band In A Box the programming instructions include screen shots of how each song section looks when programmed in Band In A Box – and this will give you a clear guide to the chord progressions being used in each section of the song.